Varsity challenge to kick off in 2018

12 February

Five universities from across the country will compete in the inaugural Varsity Challenge Australian Rules Football competition across the academic year. The University of Adelaide, the University of Melbourne and Monash University will battle it out in the South group, while the University of Sydney and the University of Queensland will fight for victory in the North group. The winners of each group will fight it out for the Varsity Challenge Australian Rules Football Cup and title of 2018 champions.

Director of Team Monash Mr Martin Doulton said the Varsity Challenge was a fantastic opportunity for universities to showcase their student-athletes while engaging their wider university communities.

“Bringing sport back on to campus is a win-win. Our student-athletes get an expanded sporting program across the year, while students, staff and alumni get the opportunity to show their university spirit and cheer on their class-mates against wonderful rivals in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and UQ”, said Mr Doulton.

“It’s free, fun, quality entertainment that students, particularly our international students are crying out for”, he added.

Netball will be the second Varsity Challenge competition in 2018 with games throughout Semester 2 (August – October). It is hoped that three additional universities – the Australian National University, the University of NSW and the University of WA will have also committed to this competition before the first centre pass is thrown.