Melbourne name t20 team for first big blue of 2018

Monday 22 February, 2018; Tom Lutwyche

Melbourne University have named their T20 Cricket squad for next Wednesday’s match vs arch-rival Monash University.

Third year Bachelor of Commerce student Andrej Yaksender will lead the team, as they seek to avenge a loss in the 2017 match. Yaksender is enjoying a fine run of form for Melbourne University Cricket Club, having scored a century in both 1st and 2nd XI cricket this season at an average of 61. Also in the team is Master of Teaching (Secondary) student James Bett – a regular MUCC 1st XI player. James will pull on the Winged Victory uniform for the first time in several years, having returned to study after graduating from Arts in 2012.

Students, staff, alumni and supporters are invited to come to the University Oval for the match on Wednesday 28 March from 4.00pm – 7.00pm – there is a free sausage sizzle, DJ, giveaways and the bar will be open with cheap drinks on sale.

The full University of Melbourne squad can be found below, with the final team to be named prior to the first ball being bowled.



Andrej Yaksender

Bachelor of Commerce

James Bett

Master of Teaching (Secondary)

James Browning

Bachelor of Science

Christopher Diggle

Bachelor of Environments

Harrison Emms

Bachelor of Commerce

Daniel Ingleton

Bachelor of Science

Fergus McKenna

Bachelor of Arts

Ben Roughsedge

Bachelor of Commerce

Jacob Stevenson

Doctor of Medicine

Muhammad Sufiyan

Master of Engineering

Daniel Van Der Merwe

Bachelor of Biomedicine

Andrew Young

Bachelor of Arts